2018-02-22 / News Briefs

In brief

New members named to fire board

CLAYTON TOWNSHIP and SWARTZ CREEK – Clayton Township Supervisor Chris Gehringer has been appointed to the Swartz Creek Area Fire Board. Gehringer replaces Ted Henry as a township representative.

Under the terms of the new joint operating agreement with the city of Swartz Creek, each municipality must appoint two of its elected officials and one citizen.

Gehringer joins township delegates Ken Engel and Tammy Kapraun, who is a township trustee, as well as Robert Widigan, who serves on alternating years. Widigan’s current term expires in April, at which time the city will appoint a fourth representative to the fire board.

Meanwhile, the city council has appointed Councilwoman Rae Lynn Hicks to serve as the second elected official on the board. She replaces Rick Clolinger. Councilman Curt Porath and citizen John Knickerbocker also represent the city on the fire board. – L.R.

Road, ditch projects planned

CLAYTON TOWNSHIP – The Clayton Township Board of Trustees has approved $140,000 worth of road work this year.

The work includes chip seal and pavement repair on Duffield Road between Lennon and Corunna roads. The project is expected to cost $65,000.

In addition, the township will spend $15,000 – and the county will put up another $15,000 – for two applications of chloride on 26 miles of gravel roads.

The township will spend another $60,000, plus $12,400 from its allocation from the county, on ditching. – L.R.

Fire station project approved

CLAYTON TOWNSHIP – T.G. Priehs Paving Co. of Imlay City will retain the contract for repaving the parking lot at fire station #2 on Seymour Road.

The company was the low bidder last fall, but could not complete the project by the end of the construction season, according to township Supervisor Chris Gehringer.

T.G. Priehs owners recently contacted the township and offered to do the work for the $47,350 they bid in 2017. – L.R.

Board Oks pay increases

CLAYTON TOWNSHIP – Clayton Township elected officials will earn a little more money this year.

The township board of trustees voted Feb. 8 to increase salaries for the supervisor, clerk and treasurer to $30,000 annually, an increase of $3,000. Trustees will receive $530 more, earning $1,400 for the year.

Township Treasurer Rick Caruso said it is the first increase for elected officials since 2005.

Clerk Dennis Milem added that, in 2010, the board reduced the supervisor’s salary by $7,000. – L.R.

Return to top

Copyright 2010-2018 The Swartz Creek View, All Rights Reserved

Click here for digital edition
2018-02-22 digital edition